Welcome to Intermountain Accountable Care, Intermountain Healthcare’s Medicare Accountable Care Organization (ACO). Our team is committed to providing patients with the highest quality, most convenient care through our hospitals, clinics, and other services.

What is a Medicare ACO? Medicare ACOs are part of a federal program designed to improve health and care. Physicians and clinician teams participating in Intermountain’s ACO provide Medicare members with safe, high quality, accessible, and affordable care—all within a patient-centered and family-friendly experience. Intermountain’s ACO began January 1, 2018.

Patients are free to choose any hospital or physician. Medicare ACO members do not self-select or join an ACO, nor is there any membership fee. Patients are assigned by Medicare as a member of Intermountain’s ACO based on the fact that the primary care physician they most often see participates on this ACO. All the benefits patients receive as a Medicare beneficiary continue as usual.

If you have additional questions, please give us a call. We look forward to serving you.

Organizational Information

ACO Participants

  • Intermountain Medical Group

ACO Participants in Joint Ventures between ACO Professionals and Hospitals:

No participants are involved in a joint venture between ACO professionals and hospitals.

ACO Governing Body: The Board of Managers

  • Chair: Mark Briesacher, MD, Intermountain senior vice president, chief physician executive, and president of the Intermountain Medical Group.
  • Clark T. Bishop, MD
  • Brian C. Hancey, MD
  • Melanie C. Hughes, NP
  • Audrey A. Jiricko, MD
  • Mikelle Moore, Intermountain senior vice president, Community Health
  • Douglas R. Newbold, MD
  • Michael S. Nielsen MD
  • Cathleen M. Obray, MD
  • Megan D. Skibitsky, MD
  • Andrea Wolcott, Medicare Beneficiary Representative

Key Clinical and Administrative Leadership

  • President and ACO Executive: Mikelle Moore
  • Treasurer: Mark Runyon
  • Administrator: Michael Hales
  • Medical Director: Stephen Barlow, MD
  • Compliance Official: Suzie Draper

ACO Committees and Committee Leaderships

  • Quality Improvement & Informatics Committee Chair: Meg Skibitsky, MD
  • Executive Committee Chair: Mark Briesacher, MD
  • Governance Committee Chair: Audrey Jiricko, MD
  • Contracts Committee Chair: Brian Hancey, MD

Identification of the Types of ACO Participants or Combinations of Participants that Formed the ACO

  • Intermountain Medical Group
  • Network of individual practices of ACO professionals

Shared Savings and Losses

Amount of Shared Savings and Losses

  • Performance Year 2018: Not yet completed
  • Performance Year 2019: Not yet begun
  • Performance Year 2020: Not yet begun

How Shared Savings Are Distributed

  • Distributed to ACO Participants: 100%
  • Invested in infrastructure and redesigned care processes/resources: 0%

Quality Performance Results

Intermountain Healthcare is currently in its first year of recording results as an Accountable Care Organization