Café and gift shop named in tribute to mining legacy
Long before its Olympic glory and reputation as an international resort town, Park City was known for another kind of splendor in the hills: Silver.
Soldiers discovered the sought-after substance here in 1868, and thousands flocked to the area seeking their fortunes.
They left something behind, too — a hospital.
Members of the Western Federation of Miners Local No. 144 joined with business owners to raise the $5,000 needed to build the Park City Miners Hospital in 1904. Many miners were treated the first year for “Miner’s Con,” or silicosis, an occupational lung disease.
Silver King Café
The Silver King Mine was one of Park City’s largest producers, earning part owner Susanna Bransford Emery, the “Silver Queen,” $1,000 a day. The Silver King also offered skiers a pre-curser to the modern high-speed quad — access to the mountain via a train tunnel and up a shaft.
The Silver King Café is located on the first floor of Park City Medical Center. The menu incorporates locally grown and organic foods. Diners can choose from simple, healthy fare like soups, salads, and sandwiches, to more elaborate entrees that change daily. The kitchen even includes a wood-fired oven for delicious, crispy-crusted pizza, and an espresso bar.
The Miners’ Dining Room
The dining room, located adjacent to the cafe, is a lovely, relaxing place to enjoy a meal or snack. Floor to ceiling windows showcase the Wasatch Mountains, stone from Browns Canyon accents the décor, and the work of local artists is displayed on the walls.
The Ore Cart
Named for the mining carts still found abandoned in the hills and holding flowers in residents’ front yards, The Ore Cart gift shop features magazines, books, candy, flowers, baby items, and other sundries.