Share your location for a better experience

Please enter your city or town so we can help you find the right care at the right place.

Click the X to continue without setting your location

Get care nowSign in

Utah Valley Hospital

  • Medical services
  • Providers
  • About

Trauma services

  • Trauma care

Trauma Center levels

A facility earns the title of “designated trauma center” when it meets requirements established by state or local government authorities. The American College of Surgeons verifies the designation of Trauma Centers as Level, I, II, III, IV or V. Levels depend on the types of resources available, and the number of trauma cases handled each year.

The American Trauma Society provides a guide to the levels of Trauma Centers. In brief, services by level signify:

  • Level l – Provides total care for every aspect of injury – from prevention through rehabilitation.
  • Level ll - Definitive care for complex and severe trauma patients.
  • Level lll - Initial evaluation and stabilization (surgically if appropriate) to the trauma patient.
  • Levels IV and V - Initial evaluation, stabilization, diagnostic capabilities and transfer to a higher level of care.

Emergency care when you need it most

Immediate care for urgent conditions like heart attacks and injuries, with seamless specialist referrals for ongoing treatment.

Best practices for emergency care

High-quality care

Simple transfers to continue care