Intermountain Health logo

We need your location

Please enter the city or town where you'd like to find care.

Get care nowSign in

About us

  • Who we are
  • History
  • Our leadership
Senior woman with rosary beads wrapped around her hands.

Our Catholic health ministry

Many hospitals in our network will continue the legacy of faith-based healthcare.

What Catholic care means

"Since a Catholic healthcare institution is a community of healing and compassion, the care offered is not limited to the treatment of a disease or bodily ailment but embraces the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual dimensions of the human person."

– United States Conference of Catholic Bishops, Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Healthcare Services

How we are continuing Catholic care

SCL Health is now part of the Intermountain family, but you can take comfort in knowing that our Catholic entities will retain their distinctive names and continue as a Catholic health ministry, operating in accordance with the Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services.
Our Catholic entities are guided by the fundamental belief that all life, from conception to the moment of natural death, is profoundly sacred and must be treated with awe, respect, and dignity.
We believe in treating the whole person, meaning the care we offer is not limited to the treatment of disease or bodily ailment but embraces the physical, psychological, social, and spiritual dimensions of the human person. We understand it is vital to offer spiritual care services and healthcare that respects and honors religious beliefs and practice.
Super graphic background

Hospitals operating under Ethical & Religious Directives

Note: Data reflects information from our most current annual report to the community.

Catholic hospitals operating under Catholic Ethical and Religious Directives

St. Mary's Medical Center

Grand Junction, CO

Saint Joseph Hospital

Denver, CO

Holy Rosary Healthcare

Miles City, MT

St. James Healthcare

Butte, MT

St. Vincent Healthcare

Billings, MT

All affiliated clinics

Non-Catholic hospitals operating under Ethical and Religious Directives

Good Samaritan Medical Center

Lafayette, CO

Lutheran Medical Center

Wheat Ridge, CO

What are the Ethical and Religious Directives?

The Ethical and Religious Directives for Catholic Health Care Services, often called the ERDs or the Directives, offer moral guidance on various aspects of healthcare delivery. The Directives can be found on the website of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops.

The Catholic understanding of healthcare is rooted in the basic scriptural understanding that the healing mission of Jesus touched people at the deepest level of their existence, and that He sought their physical, mental, and spiritual healing.

Throughout its history, the Catholic church has been dedicated to serving the sick, with particular attention to serving the poor, vulnerable, and those on the margins of society.

Five principles of social responsibility

The social responsibility of Catholic healthcare is guided by five essential principles:

Number 1

To promote and defend human dignity

Every person has inherent worth. The right to life of every human being means the right as well to adequate healthcare and must be basic to every Catholic institution involved in medical service and science.

Number 2

To care for the poor

We give particular attention to the health care needs of the poor, the uninsured, the underinsured, and those on the margins of society. We advocate and work towards a health care delivery system that provides adequate health care for the poor.

Number 3

To contribute to the common good

Catholic healthcare services are meant for the entire community. These services should be instigators of social change that lead to a greater respect for fundamental human rights and for the economic, social, political, and spiritual health of the entire community.

Number 4

To exercise responsible stewardship

Catholic healthcare ministry exercises responsible stewardship of available healthcare resources. A just healthcare system will be concerned both with promoting equity of care – to assure the right of each person to basic health care is respected – and with promoting the good health of all within the community.

Number 5

Adherence to the moral teachings of the Church

Catholic health care is guided by a moral tradition that affirms a sacredness and dignity of human life from conception until death. Catholic health care will not provide medical procedures that are contrary to this Catholic teaching.

Catholic Care Senior Leadership

Jacob Harrison

Chief Catholic Mission Officer

Jacob Harrison headshot

Jacob Harrison serves as the Chief Catholic Mission Officer for Intermountain Health. In this role, he partners with leaders to advance, align, and integrate clinical and operational strategies with Intermountain’s mission and values. He honors the legacy of the Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth and partners with Leaven Ministries, the Ministerial Juridic Person over our Catholic entities, to uphold the Catholic identity and Catholic health ministry within the organization’s Catholic entities.

As the senior leader for the Mission Integration team, Jacob and his team support leaders and caregivers in connecting to the meaning and purpose in their work. They support clinical ethics, ministry formation, mission integration, spiritual care, alignment with Community Health, and ongoing relationship support with the Catholic Church.

Jacob holds an M.A. in Theology from the Aquinas Institute of Theology and an M.A. in Healthcare Ethics from Saint Louis University. Before joining Intermountain Health, Jacob held positions in ministry formation with Ascension and in ethics with Mercy St. Louis.