Intermountain Health logo

We need your location

Please enter the city or town where you'd like to find care.

Get care nowSign in

Women's health

  • Gynecology
  • Pregnancy and baby
  • Breast health
  • Women's screenings
infant sleeping

Safe haven law

No child should be without the care they deserve. Safe haven or “baby drop-off” laws were created to prevent the unsafe abandonment of a child. They allow a person to anonymously give up a newborn at any 24-hour hospital — no questions asked.   

 

Safe haven laws by state

Utah and Colorado   

The safe haven laws are the same in Utah and Colorado. They allow a birth mother or any other person to turn over a newborn, 30 days or younger, to any staff member at a hospital offering 24-hour services. This law ensures that the person relinquishing the newborn won't be questioned. A  person may choose to give medical information that could help in the care of the baby. This law has protected infants from injury and death by providing a safe place for the baby and secrecy for the person dropping off the newborn. 
 
For more information: 
Utah: Visit www.utahsafehaven.org or call 866-458-0058
Colorado: Visit https://coloradosafehaven.com or call 888-510-2229
 

Montana and Idaho 

The safe haven laws in Montana and Idaho are broadly the same as in Utah and Colorado, but in this state, parents or any other person have 30 days from the child’s birth to turn over a newborn to any hospital, fire department, police, or sheriff's department or to another emergency services provider. 
 
For more information: